MagicMirror² v2.4.1 is available! For more information about this release, check out this topic.
Please read the release notes carefully since this update requires adjustments to your Raspberry Pi configuration!

Errors trying to run MM on Pi3

• Help! I’m a complete noob trying to go through the installation tutorial. https://forum.magicmirror.builders/topic/236/complete-setup-tutorial/6 but it’s complaining about node install.js I tried updating npm but still get this:

magicmirror@2.1.3 start /home/pi/MagicMirror
    sh run-start.sh

run-start.sh: 4: run-start.sh: electron: not found
    npm ERR! file sh
    npm ERR! code ELIFECYCLE
    npm ERR! errno ENOENT
    npm ERR! syscall spawn
    npm ERR! magicmirror@2.1.3 start: sh run-start.sh
    npm ERR! spawn ENOENT
    npm ERR!
    npm ERR! Failed at the magicmirror@2.1.3 start script.
    npm ERR! This is probably not a problem with npm. There is likely additional logging output above.

npm ERR! A complete log of this run can be found in:
    npm ERR! /home/pi/.npm/_logs/2018-01-01T01_22_06_331Z-debug.log

Any suggestions in extremely plain English very welcome. Thanks and happy New Year.

• @Esinem It seems that you do not have Electron installed on your Pi. If you install electron, it should overcome that error.

First, go to your home directory: cd ~
    Then install electron: npm install electron@1.4.15
    Once that is complete, try starting the mirror again.

Good luck!

NOTE: This won’t work (see below). Instead cd ~/MagicMirror.

• Thanks but it didn’t seem to work 😞 I tried what you said and then continued with the steps in the tutorial but as you can see it failed. I tried running it again but more errors.

I’m off to bang my head on a wall! 🙂 I’m quite prepared to believe I’m doing something idiotic as I’m a total Pi/Raspbrian/Python virgin.

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ magicmirror@2.1.3 start /home/pi/MagicMirror
    bash: magicmirror@2.1.3: command not found
    pi@raspberrypi:~ $ cd MagicMirror/config